Successful People from Our Neighborhood – Irena Dukule, Artist

One of my big dreams came true – I got a chance to talk to a real artist! you know how it goes with dreams, you want it but on the other side you are holding back – what if you are disappointed. Well, not the case! I am impressed, even shocked by the extreme power, energy and dedication hidden in this tiny lady, just waiting to splash out and brighten the world around. Please, kindly meet Irena Dukule, artist, singer of color!

irena-dukule-1317656454-logo1

Irena, where are you originally from?

Originally I am from Latvia. Was born in Jurmala, popular resort in Latvia.
In 2001 we moved to Canada.

Irena, where are your parents, siblings?

My mother and my sister reside in Germany . In Latvia my Mom worked in the movie industry for 35 years, my father was one of the best musicians in Riga, passed away at the age of 58.
I have a son, 34 years old and my grand daughter is 8 months old.

What was your dream as a child? Did it come true?

As a child I wanted to be an ice-cream girl, sell ice-cream to folks. This dream did not come true and I am certainly not an ice-cream fan.

What was your first job and what was your worst job?

My first job was my worst. I was 19 and as a student wanted to have some extra money. I worked as a Designer and my duty was to create wall newspapers the worst part of that was the writing, I really hated it. It took me too much time and the texts were too political. So, I was dismissed because of the "wrong creativity".

Habana Nights by Irena Dukule
Love this one: Habana Nights by Irena Dukule

Irena, could you tell a funny story from your life?

Funny story…May be this one? After my graduation from the Academy of Arts in Riga I worked as a Stage Set-Up designer in a theater. I created costumes' design for Kipling's story The Cat Who Walked By Himself. The Tiger's costume had to have stripes and my artist-assistant promised me to paint those. And the next day we had the Premiere.
I came to the theater early morning and saw the most terrible scene – smoke was coming out of the theater's windows! My assistant applied the paint that was not drying fast enough and decided to use the iron on the costume…So, it was not funny at all, but from the distance of so many years may be it is? it was not the end, oh, this unlucky costume! During the premiere this unfortunate costume ripped right on the back and the actor could not turn his back to the public, so his movements looked a little odd…

We will make a short break to have a look at some of the Irena's works. Video accompanied by one of Irena's favorite musicians, her farther Pauls Mierlejs, the piece is called "Atceries Senu Sapni" – Remember Your Old Dream! Enjoy!

Irena, do you like to travel and where would you like to go?

Traveling is my favorite hobby. You can wake me up and tell- let's go, I'll go. I am dreaming about Africa.

Do you have any other hobbies?

My second hobby is watching movies.

What is the most challenging part of your job?

The most challenging part of my job is the very beginning, the white canvas promises so much…

What part of your job do you like the most?

The best part of painting is the process itself, just painting.

What is success for you?

Success. Probably when people like your work.

dukule_29353_TorontoArtExpo_2006
Irena's works at Toronto Art Expo

What do you still want to achieve?

Art is a never Ending Story, infinite staircase,each achievement is just the next step.

What is home for you?

Home is the place where you can always come back.

dukule_29353_es
At Toronto Art Expo

They say it is always easier to kill the light within yourself then illuminate the darkness around you. I would like to wish Irena to always keep that light going and bless us, all her fans with more and more lovely works!

More works by Irena

Story and video compliments of Marina Gavrylyuk
Real Estate Agent with Sutton Group Summit Realty

www.MarinaG.ca

More Success Stories:

Marco Reuter, Toronto SEO Expert
Jesse Milns, Photographer for Blog TO
Ludmila Schnaider, Photographer
Doctor Samir Patel – Dentist
Barb Accogli and Monja Chiara, Cake Designers at Cake Star
Alisa Walton, Artistic Director of Crow's Feet Theater
Yuri Olhovsky, Home Inspector
Ron Balagtas, Real Estate Investment Advisor
Kendra Edmondson, Marketing Coordinator
Dr. Grace Mankowski, Chiropractor
Bill Zufelt – Director and Founder of Sherway Music Academy
Alejandro and Renata Pereira – Taekwondo Instructors
Dmitry Dovnar – IT-professional
Andrew Heron, Sign Market – Business Owner
Erika-Leigh Howard (Stirton) – Rhythmic Gymnast
Chris Chapin, Vice President at Mutual Transportation
Danuta Smiehowski – Head Coach of Olympium Rhythmic Gymnastics Club
Lisa D'Avino – Mortgage Broker
Matin Saliev – Chef
Yevgen Aleksyeyenko – Truck Driver, Owner Operator

Successful people

Leave a Reply

